Dear Nice Person, You Annoy Me.

Don’t you hate when you’re stuck with someone for an extended period of time who’s perfectly nice, but they annoy the crap out of you?

Me too!!

I’m a nice person, I really am. I have references. But, there is a difference between a nice person and a nice person who doesn’t stop talking. It seems like wherever you are, such as a work setting, school, etc. there is one person who you dread seeing for this reason.

For instance, I started my new job this past week (yay!) and I was in orientation with about 10 other new hires. There is an older woman who I would guess is in her 60’s and she is one of the new receptionists. I am a nursing assistant at the assisted/independent/skilled nursing facility at which we work. Two 8 hour days of pointless comments and questions. She was asking questions that doesn’t even pertain to her job. I wanted to yell, “Lady! You’re not the one handling the poop, pee, blood, and vomit! The people who do have to do this job know what they’re doing! Stop asking questions!” Then, I feel bad. She is a nice woman, but I just don’t have those special patience for people like this.

I’m sure everyone has run into a person like this. The one who wants to be part of the group so they think the more they talk and contribute to the conversation the more they will be accepted. No.

Here it comes, my right shouldered angel telling me I’m not being very nice. Ugh. Most of us strive to be kind to others, even to those that annoy the crap out of us… but sometimes, ignoring and avoiding is the way to go.

 

Leave a comment